Skip to Main Content

JHMS Library

GALE IN CONTEXT Databases: How to import a source reference into NoodleTools

To cite a Gale in Context database article in NoodleTools, you can use the "Import to NoodleTools" feature in Gale in Context.

 

Follow the NoodleTools directions to How to import a source citation from a Gale database

WORLD BOOK ONLINE Database: How to add a source to NoodleTools

To cite a WorldBook Online Student article in NoodleTools, use the Quick Cite feature in NoodleTools

 

 

1. Find the "Tools and Settings" in World Book and select "Citation"

 

2. Copy the citation matching the style the citation style that you are using in NoodleTools (usually MLA). 

3.Follow the NoodleTools directions to How to copy and paste a preformatted citation

BRITANNICA SCHOOL Database: How to add a source to NoodleTools

To cite a Britannica School article in NoodleTools, you can use the Quick Cite feature in NoodleTools

 

1. Find the Cite button in a Britannica School article (HINT: Look for a check mark)

 

 

2. Copy the citation matching the style the citation style that you are using in NoodleTools (usually MLA). 

3. Follow the NoodleTools directions to How to copy and paste a preformatted citation

BRAINPOP Database: How to add a source reference to NoodleTools

Available databases: BrainPOP, Jr., BrainPOP, BrainPOP en español, BrainPOP ELL 

Click the "Log In"  button on top right. Then select Sign In with Clever. 

How do I cite a video from BrainPOP in NoodleTools?

In NoodleTools

1. Create New Source

2.  Where: Choose "Database"

3. What: Choose "Original Content in Database" if using the STARTER citation level OR choose “Film or Video Recording” if using the JUNIOR or ADVANCED citation levels

In top "Database" section:

  • Name of the Database: select or type BrainPop
  • My Library’s Databases: leave blank
  • URL: copy and paste the BrainPop URL (Ex: https://www.brainpop.com/science/energy/windenergy/)
  • Most recent date of access: enter the date (HINT: select "today" to autofill the current date)

Original Content (STARTER) | Film or Video Recording Section (JUNIOR or ADVANCED):

  • Contributor section: leave blank or delete
  • If citing entire film/video emphasize contribution of: leave selected “No special emphasis”
  • STARTER Article Title | JUNIOR / ADVANCED: Title of film/video: type the title of the clip that you used from (Ex: Wind Energy)
  • Studio/Distributor section: leave blank 
  • Release date section: leave blank

4. SAVE

For more information on citing BrainPop, visit BrainPop Help.

The video below shows how to cite using the STARTER level in NoodleTools:

BOOKS: How to add a source reference to NoodleTools

 

  • To cite a print BOOK in NoodleTools, you have a few options:
    1. Input the information directly into NoodleTools completing all the fields... OR
    2. use the book's ISBN number: "How to import a citation using an ISBN number"... OR
    3. copy and paste the citation from the JHMS Library catalog, Destiny Discover:
      • From the title details page of a resource you want to review, do one of the following:
      • Select More Options icon.> Citation.
      • Click the CITATIONS tab.
      • From the drop-down, select the citation style you want: MLA (default), APA, or Chicago. The citation updates accordingly.
      • Click Copy icon. to copy the citation to paste into another application.