8th Grade SCIENCE Energy Research: Preferred Database Sources

Online encyclopedias can be a great place to start your research and possibly find images/videos and links to vetted websites about your topic.

NOTE: It is possible that you may not find your topic in an online encyclopedia. If that is the case, try a different database.

WorldBook Online is an online encyclopedia with articles, images, videos, and more.  Additionally, you can browse topics by subject which may help in narrowing your topic down when you begin your research. 

When using OFF-CAMPUS, you will likely be required to enter a username and password. (Sign in with your TCSD Google account)

For help citing World Book Online sources in NoodleTools, go to the Citing Databases in NoodleTools page.

To find vetted websites related to your topic, find an article related to your topic, then select:

   then    

Britannica School is an online encyclopedia with articles, mages, maps, games, and other learning materials, including links to primary sources and vetted websites.

When using OFF-CAMPUS, you will likely be required to enter a username and password. (included here)

For help citing Britannica Middle School sources in NoodleTools, go to the Citing Databases in NoodleTools page.

To find vetted websites related to your topic, find an article related to your topic, then select:

   then    

Middle School: A broad-based general research experience aimed at the middle school researcher.

Science: An engaging online experience for those seeking information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Opposing Viewpoints: A one-stop source for information on today's most important social issues. 

Global Issues: International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

For Gale in Context databases:

• The OVERVIEW article (where available) can be a great place to start!
• Source types include: Viewpoints (opposing views/opinions on a topic), Reference sources, primary sources, images, videos, vetted websites, and more!

When using OFF-CAMPUS, you will likely be required to enter a username and password. (see here for Google Doc - viewable only to TCSD)

Available databases: BrainPOP, Jr., BrainPOP, BrainPOP en español, BrainPOP ELL 

Click the "Log In"  button on top right. Then select Sign In with Clever. 

How do I cite a video from BrainPOP in NoodleTools?

In NoodleTools

1. Create New Source

2.  Where: Choose "Database"

3. What: Choose "Original Content in Database" if using the STARTER citation level OR choose “Film or Video Recording” if using the JUNIOR or ADVANCED citation levels

In top "Database" section:

• Name of the Database: select or type BrainPop
• My Library’s Databases: leave blank
• URL: copy and paste the BrainPop URL (Ex: https://www.brainpop.com/science/energy/windenergy/)
• Most recent date of access: enter the date (HINT: select "today" to autofill the current date)

Original Content (STARTER) | Film or Video Recording Section (JUNIOR or ADVANCED):

• Contributor section: leave blank or delete
• If citing entire film/video emphasize contribution of: leave selected “No special emphasis”
• STARTER Article Title | JUNIOR / ADVANCED: Title of film/video: type the title of the clip that you used from (Ex: Wind Energy)
• Studio/Distributor section: leave blank 
• Release date section: leave blank

4. SAVE

For more information on citing BrainPop, visit BrainPop Help.

The video below shows how to cite using the STARTER level in NoodleTools: