PREVIEW NHD Recommended Resources - JHHS History - 2019 National History Day

National History Day Contest Sites 2019-2020

NHD Website

Wyoming History Day

U.S. Government Sources

Library of Congress
World's largest library.
Library of Congress: American Memory
Maps, motion pictures, photos, sound recordings.
Library of Congress: Digital Moving Image Collections
Several hundred early motion pictures, from the late 1800s through the 1900s.
Library of Congress: Maps
Thousands of maps from the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress: Online Audio Collections and Presentations
Part of the Recorded Sound Research Center; provides access to numerous audio collections.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Access to thousands of images.
LIFE photo archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
PresidentialMuseums.com
Portal to presidential museums and libraries, birthplaces, and other notable places of historic importance.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
One of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
Images, videos, documents, audio, and maps from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Wyoming Specific Topics

Dr. Phil Roberts, University of Wyoming History Professor

Scroll down this website page to access one of the following links under the heading "General History Information"

American Heritage Center

Wyoming Constitutional Convention

Wyoming Historical Society
Topics, education, field trips, oral history, essays, search options

Wyoming Memory

Digital Archive of Wyoming History

Wyoming Tales and Trails

Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office

Digital Collections

Wyoming Historical Museums

Wyoming State Archives

Photos, maps, oral history, newspapers

Buffalo Bill Historical Center

Casper College Western History Center

Heart Mountain Interpretive Center

Western Wyoming Community College

Tom Rea - Vignettes from Wyoming's Past

General Website Resources

Museums and Historical Sites

http://nhd.org/museumsandhistoricsites.htm

History Matters

http://historymatters.gmu.edu

The Library of Congress: American Memory Project

http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html

The Internet Public Library

http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum30.00.00/

Presidential Libraries

http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/contact/libraries.html

Smithsonian Institute Research Information System

http://www.siris.si.edu

The Library of Congress

http://www.loc.gov

National Archives and Records Administration

http://archives.gov

NARA Online Exhibits (National Archives and Records Administration)

http://archives.gov/exhibits

The History Channel

http://www.history.com

WWW Virtual Library: History

http://vlib.org/History

History Makers

Primary Sources: Databases and Websites

* WYLD Primary Source Databases and Additional Info
WY Libraries' recommended resources for primary source documents.
EyeWitness to History
First hand accounts, illustrated with vintage photos, original radio broadcasts.

Library Catalogs: Find Print Resources

Destiny: JHHS Library Catalog
Search for materials in the JHHS Library collection. (Click on CATALOG to begin search by title, subject, keyword, etc.)
Teton County Library Catalog Search
Search for materials in the Teton County Library collection. You can also do an "Advanced Search" to search the JH Historical Society and Museum, as well as ALL WY libraries (outside Teton County requires an inter-library loan [ILL]).

WYLD Databases and Resources

Use gowyld.net to access all WY Library databases. If using off campus, a username and password will be required. Use your Teton County Library card # and PIN or check this document to find the JHHS usernames and password

Biography Resources
Links to biography databases and resources.
General History Databases - Student Research Resources
History databases appropriate for middle school and high school.
General History Resources
Links to general history databases plus links to ALL WYLD History Databases (side bar).
General Research
Recommended databases for general research, including encyclopedias, tips on finding full text articles, maps, primary sources, and statistics.
Newspapers
Current newspapers, Wyoming newspapers 1800s to present, and historical newspapers
Primary Sources
Recommended resources for primary source documents.
U.S. History Resources
Links to selected databases, additional sites and sources for U.S. History, and more!
Wyoming History Resources
Links to WY history resources and guides.
Wyoming State Library Digital Collection Suite
Wyoming State Library's website with links to Wyoming newspapers, places, publications, legislation, inventors, and trademarks.

TCSD & JHHS Databases

Access TCSD / JHHS databases. Check this document to find the JHHS usernames and passwords.

Journey Back In Time
Online Internet access to thousands of historical newspaper articles, documents, and writings of America's past. You may need to enter the JHHS username and password.
JStor
Access academic journals, primary sources, and more. Click "Log in through your library", Click "Log in" under heading "Have an account?", then enter username and password for JHHS.
World Book Online
Encyclopedia with multiple reading levels. Timelines and SPANISH content available.

Noodletools: Citing Sources and Notecards

To log into Noodletools, go to your Google Drive, click on the 9-square (upper right corner), and scroll down to find Noodletools.

Use Noodletools to cite your sources, take notes (using notecards), and create a "Works Cited" page as you complete your project.

JHHS History - 2019 National History Day: NHD Recommended Resources