Skip to main content

JHHS English AP Literature - Tuchscherer: Heart of Darkness

Guidelines for Information Searching

Guidelines for information searching.

  • Use advanced search
  • Use Boolean search strings "Joseph Conrad" AND "Heart of Darkness" AND criticism
  • Select academic journals, peer-reviewed articles
  • Select full-text articles
  • Recognize and keep track of the database you are using (example: Academic Search Elite)

Citation Information

Noodletools   (access Noodletools through your Google Drive account)

When citing a database article, select database then journal article to access the correct template in Noodletools.

Please NOTE: databases offer a citation of sorts with each article. Recognize that they usually are not correct. Please use the Noodletools template appropriate for the type of source you are citing, and use the elements provided to put into this template. 

Available Print Resources

Online Resources

Literature Resource Center (WYLD Database)
Password needed when accessed at home

From the WYLD homepage click on "L"
From the Advanced Search option, type in author's last name, first name. SEARCH. Click on Literacy Criticism tab.

Artemis Literary Resources (WYLD Database)
Includes Scribner Writers, Twayne's Authors, Literature Resource Center and LitFinder.

EBSCO Journals (WYLD Database)

Academic Search Premier 
Password needed when accessed at home

From the WYLD homepage click on "E"
EBSCOhost > scroll down and click on Academic Search Premier. Use advanced search: "Heart of Darkness" AND criticism

jSTOR Academic Journals (JHHS Database)
Password needed when accessed at school and home

Use advanced search. In Exact Phrase box type Joseph Conrad
Use the "print" icon on the top of the article to print these PDF articles.

Literature Online  (LION, WYLD Database)
Password needed when accessed at home
Select "Criticism & Reference" in left column > CRITICISM tab at top of search box

Search "Heart of Darkness"

ProQuest Learning: Literature (WYLD Database)
Password needed when accessed at home

Select Criticism link along top toolbar.
Type "Heart of Darkness" in the Word(s) in the text box

Internet Public Library
In left colum, click on G-H for "Heart of Darkness" under the subheading Browse for Criticism and Works by Title:
Select Heart of Darkness for appropriate website links.

Google Advanced

Google Scholar