Skip to main content

NHD 8th Grade : Recommended Resources

JHMS NHD LibGuide

American Heritage Center

The American Heritage Center (AHC) is the University of Wyoming's repository of manuscripts collections, rare books, and the university archives.

It is the second largest archive in the United States. Many of the resources are digitized and available to you online. 

Click on this link to search this collection.

Print Resources

DESTINY - Jackson Hole High School online catalog

Teton County Library including the Jackson Hole Historical Society & Museum

Use TCL to InterLibrary Loan materials from throughout the State of Wyoming

JHHS Databases

Use JHHS passwords to access these resources

ABC-Clio

World Book Online

jSTOR

Journey Back in Time

Learn 360 video clips

World Book Online

Multi-Media Resources

 Library of Congress

Online Audio Collections and Presentations

Prints and Photographs

Film

Maps

American Memory

      Maps, Motion Pictures, Photos, Sound Recordings

National Postal Museum

Smithsonian Art Museum

Time-Life Images

National Archives

     NHD Teach – New Deal

National Archives

     Resources for NHD

National History Day website

     Music

     Photos, Images, Maps

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services

U.S. Public Domain Archive

    U.S. Government Photos and Images  

Wyoming Memory

      Digital Archive of Wyoming History

Wyoming Tales and Trails

Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office

      Digital Collections

Wyoming Historical Museums

Resources for Wyoming Specific Topics

Dr. Phil Roberts, University of Wyoming History Professor

Scroll down this website page to access one of the following links under the heading "General History Information"

Wyoming History Day

UW American Heritage Center

Wyoming State Archives Photos and Maps

Buffalo Bill Historical Center

UW Libraries

Recommended General Website Resources

Museums and Historical Sites

http://nhd.org/museumsandhistoricsites.htm

History Matters

http://historymatters.gmu.edu

The Library of Congress: American Memory Project

http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html

The Internet Public Library

http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum30.00.00/

Presidential Libraries

http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/contact/libraries.html

Smithsonian Institute Research Information System

http://www.siris.si.edu

The Library of Congress

http://www.loc.gov

National Archives and Records Administration

http://archives.gov

NARA Online Exhibits

http://archives.gov/exhibits

The History Channel

http://www.history.com

WWW Virtual Library: History

http://vlib.org/History

WYLD Databases

Use this link for all WYLD resources. Use username and pin at home.

General Historical Resources
History Makers, History Reference Center, History Study Center, U.S. History in Context, Wyoming Biography Database, Wyoming Places

Newspapers
GALE Infotrac Newstand, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, ProQuest Central Historical Newspapers, Wyoming Newspaper Project

Biography in Context

General magazine, journal, and reference articles
Academic Search Premier, Britannica Online, EBSCOhost, eLibrary, General OneFile, ProQuest Central, Student Research Center

Britannica Schools

Britannica Public Library

Using the UW Library Catalogs

Advanced Search for all UW Libraries

American Heritage Center (AHC)

AHC - National Association for Outlaw and Lawman History

AHC - Toppan Library

Coe Library

Geology Library

Law Library

UW-NPS Research