LibGuides: Teaching American History LibGuide: Instructional Materials

Reading and Writing in History, Book List

10 American History Plays for the Classroom by Sarah J. Glassock
ISBN: 9780590599313
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Ten short plays on important turning points in American history
An Annotated Bibliography of Historical Fiction for the Social Studies by National Council for the Social Studies Staff
ISBN: 9780840375162
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
Building Fluency Through Practice and Performance: American History by Timothy Rasinski; Lorraine Griffith
ISBN: 9781425801137
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
American History set the stage for teaching fluency with this collection of reading texts coauthored and compiled by fluency expert Timothy Rasinski
In Search of America's Past by Bruce VanSledright
ISBN: 9780807741924
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Demonstrates how students can learn from a "inquiry-based" approach to the study of history as indicated in the national standards, and provides examples and guidelines used in a fifth-grade classroom.
Reading Like a Historian by Sam Wineburg; Daisy Martin; Chauncey Monte-Sano
ISBN: 9780807752135
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
Reading Strategies for Social Studies, Grades 1-8 by Stephanie Macceca
ISBN: 9781425800543
Publication Date: 2007-01-15
Outlines an assortment of strategies and graphic organizers designed to help students improve their reading and writing skills in social studies courses. Provides classroom examples organized by grade and discusses how to differentiate instruction according to students' needs. Includes a CD-ROM with additional learning materials.
Reading Strategies for the Content Areas Action Tool
ISBN: 9781416600480
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Socratic seminars and literature Circles by Marc V. Moeller; Victor J. Moeller; Victor Moeller; Marc Moeller
ISBN: 9781930556225
Publication Date: 2001-10-23
Presents the Socratic method of teaching for middle and high school English. Focuses on making students primary agents in learning by participating in active learning. Discusses incorporating the method into seminars or literature circles with novels, short stories, and films.
Teaching American History Through the Novel by Sharon Bannister; Twyla R. Wells; Richard S. Kimball (Editor)
ISBN: 9780825127465
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Using Writing to Learn Across the Content Areas by Sue Beers; Lou Howell
ISBN: 9781416602705
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
A guide to teaching writing and composition across the curriculum. Features a section titled "Rationale and Planning" offering such chapters as "The Reading-Writing Connection," "Engaging Students in the Writing Task," and "Evaluating Student Writing." Also includes a section of prewriting activities, during-writing activities, and postwriting activities.
Writing Strategies for Social Studies by Sarah Clark; Sarah Kartchner Clark
ISBN: 9781425800581
Publication Date: 2007-01-15
Discover key writing strategies for social studies texts and passages. Helps prepare children for social studies testing

Historical Thinking & Working with Primary Sources, Book List

After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection by James West Davidson; Mark H. Lytle
ISBN: 9780072818536
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Explains the methods used to study American history. Discusses how historians complete their detective and analytical work with the use of oral evidence, photographs, ecological data, films, television, church and town records, census data, and novels.
American History by Garth Sundem; Kristi Pikiewicz
ISBN: 9781425803704
Publication Date: 2005-05-13
Features a collection of worksheets and activities that relate to American history and are designed to encourage teamwork, inspire creativity, foster decision making, and develop critical thinking skills.
Bring History Alive! by Kirk Ankeney (Editor); Richard Del Rio (Editor); Gary B. Nash (Editor); David Vigilante (Editor)
ISBN: 9780963321855
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
A resource manual created by teachers and for teachers who wish to engage in an inquiry-based approach to historical knowledge and historical understanding.
Historical Thinking and Other Unnatural Acts by Sam Wineburg
ISBN: 9781566398565
Publication Date: 2001-05-11
A collection of essays on why and how history is taught and learned. Focuses on the challenges students face in learning history drawing on research such as comparing the responses of high school students and historians to readings. Also examines the broader "cultural history curriculum" that includes the home, the community, and the church, which inform a student's view of history.
Homespun by Robert L. Stevens
ISBN: 9780325003344
Publication Date: 2001-09-26
teaching local history in grades 6-12
Past Imperfect by Peter Charles Hoffer
ISBN: 9781586484453
Publication Date: 2007-07-03
Sense of History by David Glassberg
ISBN: 9781558492813
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Thinking Like a Historian by Nikki Mandell; Bobbie Malone
ISBN: 9780870204388
Publication Date: 2008-12-15
Discusses how to improve history instruction by "thinking like a historian" in order to better analyze topics and how they are presented. Contains sample lessons and examples throughout.
Using Primary Sources by Kathleen Vest
ISBN: 9781425803674
Publication Date: 2005-05-13
A guide for teachers on using primary sources in the classroom. Covers different types of primary sources such as photos, public records, personal documents, interviews, and artifacts. Discusses document-based assessments with examples and sample scoring guide.

Hands On Activities, Book List

American History by Garth Sundem; Kristi Pikiewicz
ISBN: 9781425803704
Publication Date: 2005-05-13
Making learning fun and interactive is a surefire way to excite your social studies students. This book includes game-formatted activities for major historical topics.
American History on the Screen by Wendy S. Wilson; Gerald Herman
ISBN: 9780825144516
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Provides a program for using films and television shows to teach American History and media literacy. Summarizes the films, puts them in context, and provides questions for further thought.
Social Studies Strategies for Active Learning by Andi Stix
ISBN: 9781425802615
Publication Date: 2004-01-27
Make history in your classroom with an engaging, integrated approach to active social studies learning. You’ll motivate your students with powerful strategies for brainstorming, language arts integration, discussion, primary sources, and deductive reasoning. The included Teacher Resource CD features modifiable students pages, and assessment materials. 304pp.
Surfing Social Studies by Joseph Braun
ISBN: 9780879860783
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Using Literature and Simulations in Your Social Studies Classroom by Andi Stix
ISBN: 9781576909348
Publication Date: 2001-04-01

University of Wyoming Virtual Tours

UW Virtual Tours

Virtual Exhibits are designed to help you explore a specific theme from AHC collections. A selected group of images will provide a brief introduction to the topic and to the types of related material, but they will not include every image relating to a particular topic. At the end of some exhibits, you will find suggestions on how you can find additional images, and pointers for further research to guide you to other printed and online resources. (from American Heritage Center website at the University of Wyoming)