LibGuides: JHHS Library: Databases &amp; Research

Searching Databases

Video by Yavapai College Library

Encyclopedias

Britannica School Encyclopedia articles, images, recommended websites, and more. For more advanced information, select "Academic" on the homepage.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive suite of e-learning resources designed for all ages and abilities with articles, videos, educator tools, and more.

General Research Databases

High School (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Holistic topic perspectives integrating reference, news, and magazine articles as well as a wide variety of multimedia content such as videos and images.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Millions of full-text articles in a one-stop source for information on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
High level academic content.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window General interest database to start your research.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles available to libraries. Proquest Central covers more than 150 subject areas and has full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal and L.A. Times.
Explora High School This link opens in a new window A general research portal designed for students in grades 6-12. Content from MasterFILE Complete, History Reference Center, MAS Ultra, Middle Search Plus, and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.

WYLD Databases LibGuide

Most of the databases we use at TCSD are made available by the Wyoming State Library Database consortium, known as WYLD. For more information and tutorials, visit gowyld.net.

JHHS A to Z Databases

Search our databases on our A to Z Databases page.

Current Events & Social Issues

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events in a rich, multimedia environment.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window A one-stop source for information on today's most important social issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window The complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue from 1888 to the present. Includes National Geographic Kids.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Each weekly issue, written by an experienced journalist, is an in-depth, single-topic report.

Literature, Books, & Recommended Reading

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window Search several major Gale literature databases at one time. Includes Scribner Writers, Twayne's Authors, Literature Resource Center and LitFinder.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window More than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 328 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window A literature database specifically for K-12 students. Find authors, criticism, study guides, multimedia and more.
Sora This link opens in a new window Ereader app. Access eBooks and digital audiobooks.
Can also access content from Teton County Library by using your Teton County Library card number and password.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window Reading recommendations for both nonfiction and fiction. Describe a plot with author read-alikes, find reviews, and much more for thousands of books.
Books and Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window Browse authors, topics, genres and more in this comprehensive fiction and nonfiction readers advisory tool.

World Languages

Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Create a personalized language learning course depending on your home language, areas of interest, and occupation. Courses for 99 languages. Pronunciator also has ESL support for speakers of more than 50 non-English languages and videos for American Sign Language.

Use the browser on any device to open Pronunciator or download the mobile app
*Create your account on the Pronunciator website before using the mobile apps.

Newspapers: Current & Historic

New York Times JHHS students and faculty have temporary, free access to the New York Times through July 6, 2020. Contact jhhslibrary@tcsd.org for help. Coming soon! For the 2020-2021 school year, students will have access to a 24/7 group subscription.

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A full-text database of more than 1000 newspapers. Includes Wyoming Tribune Eagle, Denver Post, Greeley Tribune.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal and L.A. Times, as well as the regional Gannett newspaper collections and Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Wyoming Newspapers This database catalogs historical and archived Wyoming Newspapers and contains over 800,000 records. The earliest archive dates back to 1849.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window Provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window A comprehensive search of Gale's historical newspaper archives. Includes 19th Century U.S. and U.K. newspapers.

Social Studies, History, Cultures, and Biographies

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Merges reference content with periodicals and multimedia. Users can browse or search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
History Vault (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Primary source material documenting 18th - 20th Century American history.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Historic Map Works This link opens in a new window
An extensive digital map collection, with more than 400,000 high-resolution, full-color historic maps.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Material from journals, books, as well as historical photographs and video are included.

History Study Center (website) A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary source material covering history from ancient to modern times. Resources include newspapers and journal articles, rare books, video clips, diaries, letters, dynamic maps, photos, and more.

Test Preparation Skills: ACT, AP, SAT & More

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Interactive learning platform of practice tests and tutorials designed to help students and adult learners succeed on many common academic and licensing tests. Includes ACT, SAT, AP tests, and more.

Official SAT® Practice | Khan Academy Official SAT Practice: Free SAT preparation through a college readiness partnership with College Board and Khan Academy.

Arts

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Supports research in drama, music, art history, and film making with indexing and full-text from more than 250 magazines and journals.
ProQuest Arts Database This link opens in a new window Over 30 databases providing comprehensive coverage of the humanities, arts, and culture including literature, history, religion, philosophy, and fine and performing arts.

Science and Technology

Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window An engaging online experience for those seeking information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Science and Technology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes influential journals with full text across the breadth of science and technology, from impactful cross-discipline titles to subject-specific academic publications.

Health and Wellness

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more

JHHS Library: Databases & Research

Accessing and Using Databases