LibGuides: JHHS Library: Class Guides

Recommended history databases:

U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events in a rich, multimedia environment.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Merges reference content with periodicals and multimedia. Users can browse or search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window

Recommended language arts databases:

ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window A literature database specifically for K-12 students. Find authors, criticism, study guides, multimedia and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window A one-stop source for information on today's most important social issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
High level academic content.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window Search several major Gale literature databases at one time. Includes Scribner Writers, Twayne's Authors, Literature Resource Center and LitFinder.

Looking for a book to read?

See the Books & Reading guide for more!

NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window Reading recommendations for both nonfiction and fiction. Describe a plot with author read-alikes, find reviews, and much more for thousands of books.

JHHS Health & PE 9 - Yeomans: Health Research Project

Recommended health & physical education databases:

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more

JHHS Spanish 3 - Sra. Reese: Una Aventura en un Parque Nacional

Recommended world language databases:

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Create a personalized language learning course depending on your home language, areas of interest, and occupation. Courses for 99 languages. Pronunciator also has ESL support for speakers of more than 50 non-English languages and videos for American Sign Language.

Use the browser on any device to open Pronunciator or download the mobile app
*Create your account on the Pronunciator website before using the mobile apps.

Recommended science databases:

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window An engaging online experience for those seeking information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.
Science and Technology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes influential journals with full text across the breadth of science and technology, from impactful cross-discipline titles to subject-specific academic publications.

Contact the JHHS Library

Have a research project?
Need help citing a source?
Questions?

contact jhhslibrary@tcsd.org or stop by in person!

Library Hours

The JHHS library is open during school days from 8 am until 4 pm.

JHHS Library Policies

Loan periods: Books and e-books checkout for 3 weeks and have NO overdue fines. (Please note that other media, including Chromebooks, DO have overdue fines.)

Behavior expectations: Students are expected to be respectful of others and the academic environment; students working in the library media center during class time (including Flex) should be focused on academics