Skip to main content

Researching at our Libraries: Online Resources - High School

A grade 9-12 portal for appropriate research information

Databases

Library Databases and Recommended Resources

A  B  C  D  E  F  H  I  J  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

WyomingLibraryDatabases Database resources provided by the State of Wyoming
10 x 10 Top 100 words and images that define the time

3M Cloud Free eBooks from WYLD
Artemis Literary Sources New interface featuring LitFinder, Scribners, Twaynes, and Literature Resource Center
Artemis Primary Sources
Search multiple Gale Digital archival and reference collections at the same time
Biography in Context Search for people - both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor
BookFlix (at school) (at home)
Books and Authors
BrainPop English and Spanish 
Britannica Schools Complete encyclopedia, a dictionary, and the Britannica Book of the Year
Back to Top
Chilton Library Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself (DIY) People
Congress.gov  
CQ Researcher

Provides original, authoritative reports on newsworthy social and political issues. It is renowned for its objectivity and depth of coverage.

Culturegrams Perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people 
EBSCOhost Academic, general interest, business and health magazines with many full text articles. Includes two full-text Spanish language databases 
eLibrary

Connecting educators and students to the best online resources using videos, timelines, journals, pictures, newspapers, and websites

Explora

EBSCO's all new research portals designed for researchers in grades 6-12 

FactCite

U.S. History, Countries and Cultures

Freading Free eBooks from WYLD
General OneFile Millions of full-text articles in a one-stop source for information on a wide range of topics.
Global Issues in Context
History Reference Center Full text database designed for secondary schools. Material from journals, books, as well as historical photographs and video
History Study Center Primary and secondary sources covering ancient to modern times
Journey Back in Time Historical US Newspapers 
jSTOR Scholarly Journal articles
Back to Top 
Learning Express Library Practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students succeed on the academic tests
Literature Resource Center
Biographical, bibliographical, and critical content about literature and literary figures. Analyses of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline
LitFinder LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
MackinVIA  
Mango Languages Online language-learning system including Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and Russian. Also has an ESL component
National Geographic Virtual Library The complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue from 1888 to the present
NewsELA NewsELA develops nonfiction fluency and critical-thinking skills necessary to master the Common Core standards for informational text.
New York Times Digital Subscription Features, columns, essays and photography from The New York Times Magazine
Back to Top
Newseum There's more to every news story
NewsVault Historical newspaper archives


Noodletools
  NEW Interface for 2016
Noodletools can be accessed through your
TCSD Google Drive. Click on the 9-square
and scroll down to find the Noodletools app. 

Online citation generator for MLA 8
Novelist Plus If you've ever wondered "What do I read next?", or tried to find another book by your favorite author... now includes non-fiction
OneClick Digital Audiobooks

NEW from WYLD

  • Check out up to 15 audiobooks at a time
  • Audiobooks are "checked out" for 21 days and can be renewed at any time
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Viewpoint articles and other materials
Proquest Central K-12 ProQuest Central
The largest collection of full text articles available to libraries
ProQuest Newspapers The largest collection of full text articles available to libraries. Proquest Newspapers covers more than 150 subject areas and Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Proquest Learning : Literature
A literature database specifically for K-12 students. Find authors, criticism, study guides, multimedia
ProQuest Literature Online 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 358 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources
Back to Top
Read Naturally Live!
Science in Context Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations
SIRS Discoverer General reference resource for beginning learners and researchers
Smithsonian Collections Online Full-text Smithsonian and Air & Space magazines
SoundzAbound Copyright-Friendly Music and Sound Effects
Student Research Center Offering a broad array of topics for students in grades 6 - 12
Student Resources in Context Newspapers, magazines, books, encyclopedias, radio and TV news transcripts, and more
 Back to Top
TIME  (Digital Subscription)
Breaking news and analysis. Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news.

TEDtalks

TEDTalks is a daily video podcast of the best talksand performances from the TED Conference, where the world's leading thinkers and doers give the talkof their lives in 18 minutes (or less). 

U.S History in Context

U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present
World Book Online Easy access to encyclopedia articles and multimedia content.
World History in Context From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history
YouTube YouTube is a vast resource for educational content
Zinio Discover digital magazines provided free by the Wyoming State Library. Great to use with your iPad or computer
Back to Top